Recipe #11 – Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops


Recipe #11 – Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Original recipe can be found HERE.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1/2 cup apple juice
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 6 boneless pork chops

Directions:

  1. Preheat an outdoor grill for high heat.
  2. In a small saucepan, combine brown sugar, apple juice, oil, soy sauce, ginger, salt , and pepper. Bring to boil. Combine water and cornstarch in small bowl, and whisk into brown sugar mixture. Stir until thick.
  3. Brush grate lightly with oil before placing pork chops on the grill. Cook over hot coals for 10 to 12 minutes, turning once. Brush with sauce just before removing chops from grill. Serve with remaining sauce.

My notes:

We got some pork chops at a good price at BJ’s recently and set about learning how to cook them. I’ve made this recipe twice in the last month. Each time we only used two pork chops as there are only tow of us. This recipe makes a lot of sauce so I recommend halving the recipe or use the full six chops to feed a group or have leftovers.

The first time I made this I thought the sauce was a little runny so I added more cornstarch and water. Turns out I added too much, making it a little gelatinous. The second time I simply doubled the amount of cornstarch to the 1/2 cup of water and that seemed to just right to me. i also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, which worked just fine.

This sauce is quite yummy, if a tad sweet so the second time I also added a splash of apple cider vinegar to make it a little tangier. That little splash made it perfect.

The next day I took the leftover sauce and mixed it with some brown rice and served it with Chicken Apple Sausages from Trader Joe’s for lunch. This worked surprisingly well.

If you like apple flavor, I highly recommend this recipe! A perfect one for Fall with a tall glass of Magne’rs Hard Cider.

Leave a comment