Another Snow Day!


wpid-1422889739100.jpg

 

It’s snowing again. We’ve had a pretty mild Winter so far. It only really started snowing around here a week and a half ago, but it hasn’t really stopped. I’ve had 4 1/2 snow days in the last nine days. I am determined to make the most of today’s snow day though and do something around the house. If I don’t get something done I will turn into raging snow bitch.

I didn’t get anything done on my day off Friday because I was dealing with surprise house crap. While shoveling the back deck I smelled gas. The smell went away. Then I smelled it again. So I went downstairs through the basement to see I smelled it there or under the deck. I opened the basement door and was hit full on by the smell of gas. I called the gas company who said they’d send someone out right away, and I went back down to the basement investigate further. Upon checking where the gas line comes into the house I discover a puddle on the basement floor. UGH. Now what?

The gas guy arrives, grabs his “sniffing equipment” and proceeds to check around for leaks. The dude won’t stop talking. I’m trying to text/call Ron to tell him what’s going on and this guy is yammering on about nothing while poking his sniffer thing into the snow and around the meter. Finally I excuse myself and deal to deal with updating my husband.

Good news – Chatty Gassy finds a leak and malfunction on the meter and replaces it. Bad news – The water is most likely coming from the roof up behind the chimney where we can’t see what’s going on up there and can’t reach it with a roof rake. We believe it to be melting and getting into the chimney and flowing straight through to the basement. It is not coming into the main part of the house YET. We are watching it very closely though.

As for today… well, I have a list of things to do while I’m on vacation next week. Perhaps I’ll just pick the crappiest thing on it and get it out of the way today? Or maybe I’ll just putter around the house doing any number of the endless daily things that need doing? Or maybe I’ll sit in front of the computer all day… nah, can’t do that. Time to get off my ass and move around.

Leave a Reply

