Random Blathering


Let’s see, what’s been going on this week? _______________________________________________________________________

I’ve lost 13 pounds! Even with Thanksgiving I still managed to lose a pound last week. I am quite happy about this. A few people at work have even asked if I’ve lost weight. Ron’s lost even more, but he’s also been at this longer than I have. I also hear it’s easier for men to lose weight since our metabolisms are different. It’s so not fair. _______________________________________________________________________

We got our Christmas tree on Sunday. Yes, we were one of those people who buy their tree early this year. We put ours outside on the deck though where we can see it but we don’t get pine needles everywhere and there’s a lower risk of setting the thing on fire. Once the season is over we pitch it over the railing and drag it around front for trash pick up. No mess, no fuss. We’ll decorate it soon and I’m sure I’ll take pictures.

_______________________________________________________________________

It’s been a long week. Throw in the fact that the Bruins are doing a west coast road trip this week so the games all have REALLY late starts, some hormonal insomnia and a full moon and I’m pretty f-ing tired. It’s my day off and it’s 7:30 am as I type this. I’ve already been up for an hour. I am insane, but if I go back to bed now I’ll just perpetuate the late nights and I have to be up, alert and in charge at work tomorrow. Tomorrow’s a full moon Saturday and I hope I manage to get through it without having to call the police, losing my temper, having someone use the elevator as their own personal restroom, AGAIN, or bursting into tears. _______________________________________________________________________

There’s a new addition to the Photographic Family! Please join us in welcoming a lovely Canon 6D. She weighs 1 pound, 8.8. oz, 5 1/2 inches long and 20.2 megapixels. This camera is most definitely a “she” and is a welcome addition to our photographic family. I’m not usually in the habit of assigning genders to my equipment, but this baby feels different somehow and slightly feminine to me. The more I think about it I feel her predecessors are definitely male. Next thing you know I’ll be naming the damn things. I know someone who names her cars. Maybe I just need more sleep. _______________________________________________________________________

In an attempt to stay awake this morning I got up, got dressed, drove Ron to the train station and made a cup of tea.  I also stripped the sheets from the bed and tossed them in the washing machine so I can resist the temptation to crawl back into the still warm blankets. I dare not sit on the couch, which is all snugly and inviting,  and I should probably step away from the computer soon. Time to go make a second cup of tea. _______________________________________________________________________

I realize these little snippets of blathering could all be their own separate blog posts. I’m such a lazy blogger these days. I don’t know why I don’t spread these writings out. Must be my scattered brain… it’s just how it works sometimes. _______________________________________________________________________

The new camera was a spontaneous purchase. Sort of. Ever since the Victory Theatre Workshop and all the camera problems that preceded it I’ve been thinking about an upgrade. Ron did a ton of research and I settled on buying a 6D when the time was right, probably after the holidays. Well, the time was right a little early. There was such an amazing rebate offer online last weekend that with Ron’s prompting, I was able to jump on because I had already made the upgrade decision and knew what I wanted. The offer came with software, a BIG ASS PRINTER and really nice photo printer paper. If anyone is stuck for ideas as to what to get me for Christmas I now need an extra battery for the 6D and Amazon gift cards for the whopping ten printer cartridges this beast of a printer requires. B&H gift cards are very welcome as well. _______________________________________________________________________

Our holiday shopping is coming along very well and items are starting to come in. Now to wrap all this stuff up and deliver it. For the first time in years I am not feeling panicky during December. Let’s hope this holds. _______________________________________________________________________

Oh yeah… we went to a family wedding recently as well. I took a ton of photos and you can view them HERE if you like. I got really drunk, and I’m not proud of that, but apparently I was still together enough to take some fairly decent photos. I’ve also had the song Love Shack by the B52’s stuck in my head since that night. _______________________________________________________________________

Alrighty… enough blathering. If you’ve made it this far, you’re awesome. Let’s be BFF’s. If you didn’t make it this far, well, c’est la vie. Time to get off my ass, move around and get shit done.  You should quit reading this and go do something too. Go on now. Be off wit ye.

Leave a Reply

