Recipe #15 – Mojo Criollo


Yes, yes, it’s been nearly a year and a half since I posted a recipe, and I have tried a couple since then. Here I am catching up! Today I present to you the most recent one I have tried. Today I give you Mojo Criollo Marinade. I was buying a pre-made version of this from Goya, which is excellent, but since I am cheap and supposed to be watching my sodium intake I thought I’d have a go at making it from scratch. My husband says he likes this version better. We both think the salt content in the store bought version can be a little overpowering, but then, this is a Cuban recipe and maybe it’s supposed to be salty? You can find the original recipe HERE.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup lime Juice – fresh squeezed
  • 1/2 cup orange juice – fresh squeezed
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 6 garlic cloves – pressed
  • Salt – to taste
  • Black pepper – fresh ground, to taste

Directions:

  • Add all ingredients to a small jar, cover and shake for two minutes.
  • Adjust salt & pepper to taste
  • Use as marinade for meats and poultry.

What I did:

I’ve used this recipe twice so far and both times it was really good. The first time I made it as instructed using juices out of a bottle since I’m lazy and don’t fresh squeeze anything. I also used minced garlic out of a jar. Both times it was used to marinate pork chops. I love pork. My husband is the grill master in the house and I forgot to warn him that it might flame up on him because of the oil content, but who doesn’t love a little char on their pork?

The second time I made it I cut the amount of oil in half and it still worked fine. Makes the recipe a little bit cheaper to make and it gave it a deeper citrus flavor. this makes enough to cover 2-3 small porkchops. I also added a couple dashes of onion powder to up the wang factor, and used a dash or two of  Goya Adobo spice instead of salt. Trust me, there’s plenty of salt in Adobo, but apparently there’s a low sodium version… if only I didn’t have a giant container of the stuff to use up. Anyway, we both liked the second version better. Both times we soaked the chops in a zip-lock bag full of marinade for a couple of hours. I can’t wait to try this with chicken!

2 thoughts on “Recipe #15 – Mojo Criollo

Leave a Reply

