Brave, Messy Weekend


IMG_20140622_191307

It’s been a busy week since I last wrote. A roller coaster of work, errands, emotions and play. I attended a fantastic art workshop over the weekend that was a birthday present to myself and met some very lovely people. The image above is the altered book I started at the workshop and will post more images as I work on it. I got paint all over me and had a grand time.

IMG_20140622_191651

The artist, Sabrina Ward Harrison, was awesome and at the end she signed everyone’s books. Everyone seemed to get what they needed out of the workshop and I think I got the nice swift creative kick in the pants that I really needed. Let’s see how long it lasts.

IMG_20140622_191937

Part of the workshop took place down by a nearby lake. I went back to the woods to shoot a couple of quick shots with my phone before heading home. Forests have always felt like home to me and I’ve always been drawn to water. Maybe that’s why I now live on a pond? Who knows. What I do know is that I need to make sure I spend more time sitting on my deck enjoying my pond, as well as taking the occasional hike in the woods this summer. My local forest beckons!

IMG_20140622_192425

Overall my weekend was so relaxing and productive. I don’t think I thought about work at all. It was so hard coming back down to the “real world” on Monday that I drove right by the parking lot for work. *SIGH* We all need weekends like this.

Leave a Reply

