Winter Update


I don’t know about you, but I am so sick of this Winter. It’s been a rough one. The weather did warm up this last week and some of the snow has melted and I started to feel a little better, but the cold will be returning this week and with it a chance for even more snow.

We’ve had a leaky roof/skylight issue, and with all of the melting snow this week we had a wee small ice dam. We have a small stain on the bedroom ceiling and after talking to a neighbor we seem to be the lucky ones. Others in our condo association have water literally pouring into their homes. I now find myself looking at the ceilings every time I hear a noise that resembles the sound of dripping. Henceforth I will be spelling ice damn with an N at the end. The Downstairs bathroom project will likely be on hold while we deal with this mess come Spring.

ice-dam

So what have I been doing this Winter? Well, I obviously haven’t been writing here. I feel like I’ve sort of gone into hibernation mode. I did start a post on February 10th and got a paragraph written before giving up:

Another post from the bad blogger here. I’m a bad journaler these days as well. I’m not even sure journaler is a word. Journal writer? Diary keeper? Whatever. I did get into my art room yesterday and reinforced the bindings and hinges on that giant dictionary I acquired back in June. You know, THIS ONE. The one I should be filling up with random blatherings such as this and yet haven’t. Well, I yesterday I worked on fixing the bindings and started decorating the end papers and such. It’s a start! They say “a job once begun is half done” or something like that, so there ya go. Now to add something to it each day… but no pressure! If I pressure myself I might not do it at all. Not guilt for skipped days either.

Since writing that I have worked on the big ass dictionary journal a few times and things are starting to come along nicely. I am slowly getting my craft mojo on. I even signed up for a workshop with Sabrina Ward Harrison the weekend before my birthday. I have many project ideas for the coming months, but my goal is to complete only one. I’m sticking with the no pressure theme here.

What else is going on? Well, I had a minor health scare that landed me in the ER, but it was nothing so I won’t elaborate. Not much to tell anyway unless you want me to go into the minor humiliation of a follow-up stress test. I might write that up at some point but not today.

We’ve been getting out of the house and visiting people more. We recently spent a day with my brother Joey and his wife Christine and watched a bunch of movies. Joey makes killer nachos. Dinner with Kenny & Carol, making music with Tom, and hanging in Carrie’s craft room. Trying to get out in this crap weather and see people. When we can muster up the energy to clean the house we’ll have some folks over here.

We did have a big 75th birthday party for Ron’s parent’s a few weeks before Christmas. We completely cleaned the house and had a bunch of family and friends here. It was hectic, but it was fun. I am not fond of Christmas and don’t know what we were thinking when we decided to plan a party two weeks before then, but it was fun and we survived.

We’ve been half watching the Olympics. Ron’s cousin Andy was in Sochi officiating some of the hockey games. How cool is that? We are currently trying to re-watch the first three seasons of Game of Thrones in preparation for Season 4 in April. Now that the Olympics are over, the regular hockey season will resume so we’ll be watching that as well. GO BRUINS!

Sansa_fixed

There’s a trip to Maine in the works to visit my soon to be 90 year old grandmother. This is my fathers mother and the relationship is a tad awkward, but she’s family so we’re going. My brother Bill & his family will be joining us. I’ve been doing a lot more cooking and will have new recipes to post soon. I’ve been catching up on photos and they can all be viewed HERE. I have to start getting ready for work now so this will be all for today. I WILL be blogging more in the future. Winter blahs be damned.

Leave a Reply

