Pinterest


Pinterest is like falling into a hole. It’s a guilty pleasure of mine.

If you don’t know what Pinterest is, well, in a nutshell, it’s a way to visually bookmark cook stuff you find online and share what you think is cool with others.  Technically speaking, you are pinning a digital image/thing/idea to a virtual bulletin board.  And it’s kind of like crack to me.

You see, I am a very visual person. I respond to images. It’s kind of like magazines. I love looking at magazines, and occasionally I even read the articles, but I rarely buy them. (Being a periodicals librarian has it’s advantages) When I do buy magazines I often clip images and articles out of them and save them. Pinterest allows me to do this online. I can also see what my friends are pinning, or follow strangers with similar taste to mine. I can sit for hours looking at what other people find interesting. I don’t, but I sure can! One pin leads to another, which leads to another, and another, and another….

I have found recipes for meals and cocktails here, craft ideas, decorating suggestions, fashion tips and photography tutorials here. Some work, some don’t. There’s also a lot of crap here, but you’ll get that anywhere online, especially when there is a social element to it. Just like walking into any mall in America, you’ll get your share of whack jobs. It’s what makes life interesting.

From a marketing standpoint, it’s brilliant. I could go on a long, boring rant of the evils of advertising and how if the service is free then YOU are the product, but I won’t. I can see both sides of the whole advertising thing and let’s just say that I can admire the pure genius of the marketing potential of Pinterest and enjoy it for what it is. Speaking of marketing, if Pinterest wants to throw me a little scratch for writing this… ahem…

You can check out my Pinterest boards HERE. I’d love to see yours!

Leave a Reply

