Marathon Monday


Well, it’s been a weird couple of days here. Some asshole decided it would be a good idea to set off two explosions at the finish line of the Boston Marathon. First off, everyone here is fine and as far as I know everyone I know is fine. We were not there at the finish line and if we were going to watch, we would pick somewhere out in the suburbs closer to the starting line to watch where it’s easier to park. Neither one of us want to trek into Boston on a day off anyway. We weren’t running it either in case you were wondering. If you ever see me running, call the police because it means someone is chasing me.

But frankly, this whole thing sucks. SUCKS. Watching the marathon in person is a yearly tradition for many families in Massachusetts. I saw my first Marathon in Newton back in the early 1980’s with John and my siblings and we had a blast. I’ve seen it in Brookline, Ashland and Framingham as well. I am afraid families will now be reluctant to go out and cheer the runners on. It’s been some time since we went out and watched it in person though. Maybe next year we’ll have to do that.

Leave a Reply

