Recipe #12 – Roasted Brussels Sprouts


This past Fall I kept seeing Brussels Sprouts in stores that were still on the stalks. I thought they looked goofy and weird. I love Brussels Sprouts but I’ve only ever had them cooked from frozen. Ron doesn’t like them so usually I would get a bag of frozen ones and steam them. I  thought to myself, one of these days I need to learn how to prepare them fresh.

A short while ago I picked some up at Trader Joe’s and looked up recipes. Most recipes for roasting these babies are generally a combination of oil, salt and pepper. Pretty simple, right? Below is a recipe I found.

Click HERE for original recipe and printer friendly version.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds Brussels sprouts, ends trimmed and yellow leaves removed
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Place trimmed Brussels sprouts, olive oil, kosher salt, and pepper in a large resealable plastic bag. Seal tightly, and shake to coat. Pour onto a baking sheet, and place on center oven rack.
  3. Roast in the preheated oven for 30 to 45 minutes, shaking pan every 5 to 7 minutes for even browning. Reduce heat when necessary to prevent burning. Brussels sprouts should be darkest brown, almost black, when done. Adjust seasoning with kosher salt, if necessary. Serve immediately.

What I Did:

I didn’t actually measure anything. I bought a bag of fresh sprouts at Trader Joe’s and used the above recipe as a general guideline. I don’t recall how big it was. I trimmed the ends and cut them in half. I then tossed the halves in a bowl with olive oil, kosher salt and fresh ground pepper. I also chucked in a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic from a jar and mixed it all together. I then put them in a glass baking pan that I had sprayed with cooking spray and baked them at 400 for 45 minutes.

They were so good that I have made them several times since this first try. I have since added a dash of onion powder and one time I used olive oil that had Italian herbs soaking in it. Having made this a few times now I recommend spraying the hell out of the baking dish before cooking for easier cleaning – you want to make sure you don’t miss a spot or you’ll be scrubbing later. I also recommend baking these babies for at least 40 minutes. I’ve also made the mistake of taking them out too early, but they are better the darker they are… keep them in there longer – you won’t be sorry.

You can view the full list of recipes HERE.

KMcElman_130120_sprouts

Leave a Reply

