Quilt by Association?


It is said that a “project once begun is half done.” Well, I’ve been collecting fabric for the last 3 1/2 years for a specific project and I have set it up in the loft to start working on it. I am going to make another quilt. The last quilt I made took almost nine years to make and I had to get help to finish it. Actually, I had help starting it too… it was supposed to be a group effort for a quilt for a friends baby that got left in my lap… that baby is now 11 1/2 years old.

That quilt you see over the railing was made by my husbands Aunt Nancy. She did not even know the general color scheme of our house when she gave it to us. The black, red and gray matches PERFECTLY! Aunt Nancy was also the saint kind enough to finish the last quilt for me.


Anyway, I always wanted a purple bedroom and now that I have one, I need a pretty bedspread to match. I have not liked any I have found in stores so I decided I need to make my own. I have a pattern, I have fabric, I have a sewing machine. Now to get off my ass and DO IT.

This is my Nana’s old sewing machine. I haven’t used it in a while and I need to figure out how to thread the bobbin properly. The last time I used it I got the tension all screwed up. I did a quick search online and found that there are plenty of manuals for sale on eBay, but I’m cheap and I don’t want to pay too much for one. I was hoping I could get one from Singer or download one.

I did find out that this old beast is from 1947 so I’m guessing it was a wedding present to my Nana since that is about when she would have gotten married. My Grampa re-wired it at some point and re-covered the seat cover as well. There are old cigarette burns on the wooden case. The seat has a storage compartment that is like a time capsule of sewing paraphernalia.

So there it is… all set up and ready to go. Yup. Look at me go. I haven’t actually cut any fabric yet, or opened the pattern all the way, but it’s a start, right? Right?

6 thoughts on “Quilt by Association?

Leave a Reply

