Recipe #10 – Home Fries!


It’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe so here’s a rough one for ya!

I’ve tried making home fires before, but usually I would just wing it. They’d be okay, perhaps a little mushy, but never like home fires you’d find in a a restaurant. I had some baby golden potatoes that were beginning to turn so I thought I’d do a little research and give home fries another go.

I found two recipes:

Quick and Easy Home Fries
Steve’s Famous Garlic Home Fries

From these two recipes  and their comments I garnered the following tips:

  •  Use a non stick pan. Hey look! I have a fabulous, brand new set of them.
  •  Use butter instead of oil. I like butter.
  •  However, oil will make them crispier. I like crispy too.
  •  Cook them longer. In the past I’ve been far too impatient and didn’t cook them enough so they ended up mushy instead of slightly crispy.
  •  Cut them thinner. I would typically cube them, often cheating and using an apple corer to cut them. This time I cut them really thin – about 1/8 to 1/4 inch thick. I was aiming for them to be about the size of a small 2×2 dot Lego.
  •  Use Paprika. Never thought of using Paprika before.

So here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  •  6-7  Baby Golden Potatoes, washed and dried.
  •  Frozen onions – a large handful
  •  Minced garlic form a jar – a heaping teaspoon
  •  Fresh ground pepper
  •  Kosher salt
  •  Butter – about two teaspoons.
  •  Paprika
  •  Crushed Red Pepper
  •  a dash of garlic powder
  •  a dash on onion powder
  •  Olive oil

What I did:

  •  I used a large non-stick pan. Melt Butter.
  •  Add onions, garlic
  •  Started chopping potatoes while onions and garlic  started cooking. I cut them thin and small.
  •  Toss potatoes into pan, coat with butter, onion garlic mixture.
  •  Add fresh ground pepper and salt to taste. I like both and tend to go a little heavy with it.
  •  Put lid on pan and went about preparing omelettes, emptying dishwasher.
  •  Removed lid, flipped and moved potatoes around. Started making toast and tending to omelette in progress.
  •  Put more dishes away, flipped omelette.
  •  Checked potatoes. Flipped as needed.
  •  After waiting a little more I added a quick squirt of olive oil – just a little – to encourage the crispiness. I added a bunch of Paprika too.
  •  Finished omelette, started omelette number two and flipped the potatoes again… you get the idea.
  •  Overall I’d say I cooked the potatoes at least 20 minutes, but was probably longer. At least one side of each little lovely spud was a nice, crispy golden orange color. I’ll let you be the judge of when they are done.
  •  Enjoy!

I was still kind of winging it, and they turned out pretty darn awesome. Totally worth making again! I’ll have to start photographing what I make one of these days as well.

Leave a Reply

