The Recipe Thing


I’m not much of a cook, though Ron says I am. I just don’t love doing it. I love to eat though and restaurants are expensive. One of the things on my Lifetime To-Do List is to try 100 new recipes. I have decided to start posting them here as I try them. They were HERE, but now there will only be links to the posts as I post them here. Capish? I don’t know why I didn’t it start this way from the beginning.

Recipe #6

Vegan Yum Yum’s Sweet Chili Lime Tofu

Click above for original recipe, see below for how I killed, er, prepared it.

  • 1 Block Tofu, extra firm, 14 oz

Sweet Chili Lime Sauce

  • 3 Tbs Sugar
  • 3 Tbs Reduced Sodium Tamari (or soy sauce)
  • 1 3/4 Tbs Fresh Lime Juice
  • 1/2 Zest of the Lime
  • 1/2 tsp Red Chili Flakes (or 1-2 fresh hot chilies, minced)
  • 1 Clove Garlic, pressed, optional
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 4 Mint Leaves, chiffonaded

What I did:

I did not have a non-stick pan as recommended by the original recipe so I used a regular pan and oil. That was probably my first mistake. The tofu stuck to the pan anyway and got a little soggy and weird so I let the whole thing cool and drained off some oil. Then I resumed frying and just kept the little buggers gently moving to prevent sticking.

I was only interested in the tofu part of this recipe so I did not make the quinoa or collared greens. I also did not have any mint or chili flakes and I used soy sauce instead of tamari. I substituted the chili flakes for dark ground chili powder in the same quantity and just left out the mint. After the whole minted carrots debacle of a few years back I am scared of mint, but that’s a story for another day. What the hell does “chiffonaded” mean anyway?

After adding sauce to the frying tofu I kept cooking until it was all “glazey” which is a very good way of describing what happens. When done I split it into two portions, one for me to have at dinner at work tonight and the other for my husband to try when he gets home. He’s kinda picky so I left him pasta and tomato sauce as a back up dinner just in case.

The quick bite I did have was quite tasty, even though it came pretty close to being an oily pile of mush. I’ll have the final verdict after work tonight.

Verdict:

This was indeed quite delicious and filling. I ate it for dinner with brown rice and Peas & onions. I’d order this in a restaurant and Ron gave it the thumbs up as well. This one’s a keeper!

Leave a Reply

