Recipe #5 – Basic Frittata


Basic Frittata

Click above for the original recipe. Below is what I actually did.

Ingredients:

  • 7 Eggs
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • approx. 1 tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1 large handful of frozen onions
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • A couple of handfuls of shredded mild cheddar cheese
  • 6 slices of deli ham

Directions:

I then followed the rest of the recipe to the letter as follows:

1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
2. In a mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, and Parmesan cheese. Add in sun-dried tomato pesto and prosciutto, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Set aside.
3. Sauté onions in olive oil in an oven-proof, stick-free skillet, until translucent, about 4-5 minutes on medium heat. Add garlic and cook a minute further.

4. Pour egg mixture over onions. Use a spatula to mix things up a bit, then sprinkle in the bits of goat cheese. When the mixture is about half set [jiggle it to find out], put the whole pan in the oven.
5. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until frittata is puffy and golden. Remove from oven with oven mitts and let cool for several minutes. Although the pan may be out of the oven for a few minutes, the handle is still very hot. Slide it off onto a plate.

My Notes:

This was my first frittata. I first heard of them in a magazine last fall and went hunting for a pan I could put in the oven. I found one cheap in a hardware store in Maine and finally dug it out to try this today. When the recipe says that the handle of the pan will still be hot it wasn’t lying. I am not used to cooking with this type of pan and totally forgot to use a mitt when I tried to move it. I burnt my left hand pretty badly. It was delicious though next time I might cut up the ham before putting it in the mixture.t

Leave a Reply

