Musical Mondays!


Here’s my next attempt at making you folks dance on a rather dismal Monday. I know very little about the art of music, but I make a mean mixtape. I know what I like, maybe you will like it too.

This weeks featured artist is Santigold, formerly known as Santogold. She doesn’t seem to have an official website but you can read all about her HERE.

I can’t quite put a finger on why I like her music, but I do. I am particularly fond of this song:

Her sound reminds me of Tori Amos with a hip-hop flavor… I think. It’s hard to describe. I love the fact that her voice isn’t perfect in a classical sense, kind of like the girl next door singing her heart out and she doesn’t care who can hear.

Santigold dips her toes into all different genres of music. For example this reggae style song:

Her versatility gives her broad appeal and introduces people to music they would not ordinarily listen to and I think it’s rather brilliant.

You may have heard this song in a recent advertisement on TV… I can’t remember what the ad was for but it’s a catchy song:

Here’s a fun little behind the scenes look at the making of one of her videos:

Well, I hope you have enjoyed this weeks edition of Musical Mondays!

Santigold on MySpace

Santigold on Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

